top of page
  • Writer's pictureSachh Foundation



Change Around the World: Interview with Olivia Stoica

By Claudia Simone Ene


The first time when I heard about sustainability was more than six years ago. I did not know what it means or how easy it is to contribute to a better world by taking the initiative and action. But I had the opportunity to become a member of an NGO in Bucharest, Romania's capital. So, I made my first steps towards sustainable projects for young people and volunteering for good causes regarding people, nature, or animals. I never believed that this experience would bring me so much joy and fulfillment, but I let my kindness lead myself, and I started a beautiful journey for two years. I met friendly people on my way, and I tried to learn something new and inspire everyone. One of the persons who are still in my thoughts and contacts is a young mother who decided to leave her thirteen years of a corporate job to find herself and follow her path. Her name is Olivia Stoica, and I met her at the same NGO where we used to be volunteers, especially for children living in poverty. I knew she was different from the first moment when we talked, and I was right because I found a friend in her. During the years, Olivia worked in various projects as a trainer, and she continued to develop herself with NLP courses and training, completing her experience as a guidance counselor with children and mothers. For more than one year, she is a life coach, and she is helping people find their paths, believe in their skills, and follow their hearts. I think her story is an inspiring one because she dared to quit her old habits and the comfort zone and pursue her happiness by becoming a mother who is an entrepreneur.


What is your advice for women and moms everywhere regarding their profession and development?


My opinion for them is to follow their dreams. The only way to be successful, grateful, and to feel appreciated and valuable as a woman with a career is to do what you like. Working with pleasure is less stressful and is excellent for your mind as well. When you are a mother, the most significant thing is to be relaxed so that you can offer quality time and education to your child. From my perspective, moms worldwide should focus only on their skills and work in partnerships to achieve a great deal in a shorter time. Women should learn that they are essential, and they have the right to choose their career anytime in any place.


What do you think women and moms need to become independent nowadays?


I believe that independence need (financial and personal) is different for everyone because we are all different, and we have various values. I don't agree with a 100 percent independence of the woman, wife, and mother because we live in a society. But I firmly believe that we, as women and mothers, need to love ourselves and we have the right to decide and change our minds depending on how much happiness and contentment this brings to us personally.


Considering gender equality as one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda of the United Nations, do you think people worldwide should be more involved in working in any SDGs? And what do you think will be the benefits for the planet and people in need?


Yes, I think people should work more on the Sustainable Development Goals because, as parents, we are the best examples for our children. So, if we want a better world in the future, we need to be better. We need to learn to overcome our beliefs and become better without competing with others. We should focus more on our example and learn how to be better than we were yesterday, to be successful for the good things we are doing for others, not for having more money or power than our colleagues or friends.


You are a mom; do you think it is essential to teach our children from earlier ages any lesson about the Sustainable Development Goals? If yes, what did you explain to your daughter until now, and how responsive she was?


I trust that a healthy mindset and good behavior need to be learned from an early age. We need to be an example for our children, and so we can teach together how to recycle, sort paper/ plastics/ household waste, love animals, and take care of the plants and nature. My daughter grew up like this, and she is kind and loving, and I believe she will be one of the children who will support sustainability.


What is your message for teenagers, young people, women, and moms to motivate them to work in any of the Sustainable Development Goals?


My message is to try to be more kind to ourselves and the others. First, we need to take care of ourselves, meet our personal needs and values, and help others if required. If we do what we like, we will end by helping others for sure.


With a great desire to inspire other people, especially moms, to take a step towards Sustainable Development work, I followed my intuition. I asked Olivia to be part of my journey through her example. And I am grateful that she accepted to answer my questions with wisdom and honesty. There are so many beautiful persons in the world, working on their dreams or just for helping others, you need to let yourself led by your values, and you can become an ambassador of one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals and make a change in the world.


87 views0 comments
bottom of page