top of page
  • Writer's pictureSachh Foundation



Lessons from Shanghai

By Emma Andrew


When you tell someone that you are moving from Hawaii to China, you can expect to immediately have your sanity questioned. China was perceived as a faraway place with perhaps the most opposite culture to the United States imaginable. Although China is a massive country with varying geographical landscapes, the most perpetuating image is one of cities and smoggy skies. The thought of leaving an island paradise for the grey skyscrapers of booming industrialism is foreign to most. What’s more, there was always a negative undercurrent reminiscent of the political tension between China and the United States whenever I informed others of my impending move. However, apart from all of the presumptions and discouraging remarks, the allure of adventure drew me in. I packed up my belongings and on one bright May morning, I boarded a one way flight from Honolulu to Shanghai.


When someone moves to a foreign country and makes a life there, a curious thing happens. This new place occupies a space in their heart, one that they will carry with them forever. In Shanghai, China I gained a new home and a love for this new country. Although I experienced various tensions being an American in a country that was currently embroiled in a trade war with my home country, the people were kind, open-hearted, and lovable. It soon became very evident to me the fact that the citizens of a country are very separate from the governments. America is not America because of its government, but because of the 340 million citizens that live there. The same goes for China.


When you begin to see a country as a real place filled with real people instead of a political body, then empathy grows. Everyone understands what it is like to be human and the struggles that come with that. Most people understand the grind of the daily routine, the love you feel for your family, afflictions such as hunger or fatigue, and various other nuances of the human condition. If we resort to looking at countries as just a government, then humanity is taken out of the country. Governments are usually perceived as foreign and cold and stiff, which is very inhuman to the average person. When governments are the ones battling each other, the citizens can often become embroiled in the conflict, perceiving these higher issues as ones of their own. Many times, they are, as they affect the economic, social, or political climate of the world. However, the citizens in these countries are oftentimes innocent of the actions of the government, especially those in developing countries desperately seeking help.


Moving international was the most valuable learning experience I have had so far in my life. I learned to see beyond the TV screens, New York Times articles, and textbooks. I experienced China in a tangible way, meeting Chinese people face-to-face and observing how they live in their home. It was touching, humbling, and extremely mind-opening. I gained compassion for my brothers and sisters across the Pacific Ocean and realized that perhaps the world is really more alike than different, although the media would love to keep us divided and at each other’s throats.


This experience has completely changed my path and how I want to proceed with my career. Money, although important, became relatively obsolete as it dawned on me that there are much bigger fish to fry than how I was going to make my fortune. There are political tensions that need to be soothed, hungry people that need to be fed, lonely people who need to be loved, and many, many people who need a friend out there. Although I love my beautiful country of the United States of America, the limitless privilege I experience of being a citizen of this country allows me the chance to help those who perhaps are not as lucky. I did not choose to be born here, it simply happened. Many others are born into lives of poverty and sickness. Through promoting sustainable development, I can help, little by little, those who are in need. And this is what brings me true fulfillment.


All of this brings me to the idea of partnership. The key to reaching a peaceful and prosperous planet is through widespread cooperation and compassion. If countries are at a level of development that allows excess prosperity, their bestowment of some of this prosperity to countries who are struggling is the greatest step we can take towards global sustainable development. Sometimes, the first step to this is picking our heads up and looking around to see what we can do to help. Sometimes, the first step to this is moving to China. It is different for everyone, but I will be eternally grateful I took this first step.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page