top of page
  • Writer's pictureSachh Foundation



A Story on Change

By Claudia Simone Ene


Have you ever looked in a child's eyes and see how sad they are because of poverty and the lack of opportunities? Have you seen families struggling to earn money for living? Have you ever given food to a homeless person or offered a piece of cloth to keep warm in the cold nights? Have you fed or saved an animal from the street? Have you tried to help someone from the depth of your heart without reason? Do you know how it feels? It is like the whole world is yours for some moments. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are about the offering, inspiring, and trying to make a better world. If we come together with the same intention, we will be witnesses of significant changes worldwide.

I remember I was always different from my playmates when I was a child, because I was picking up rubbish that I found on the street and put it in the bin, I was feeding cats and dogs from the road, or I was helping and speaking nicely to everyone who needed a kind word. And the first moment when I knew I want to be part of the change, to do something significant for others and the society, was many years ago when I heard and interacted with one of the Sustainable Development Goals. So, I decided to enroll in a small NGO which was working to achieve "No Poverty," "Zero Hunger," and "Quality Education" Goals. And so, my adventure began.


Unfortunately, in Romania, an old communist country, the situation of children was, and it is still critical, with over a third of children living below the poverty line and a big gap between urban and rural in terms of health and education. Reports show that more than 150,000 children are going to bed hungry at night, and the school population is decreasing every year. So, I started my volunteering period with the ambition to do well and the desire to motivate young people to follow my example.


There are many inspiring stories during my volunteering towards the Sustainable Development Goals. But the most inspirational one was when I took part in the organizing team of a seven-day camp for 15 teenagers living in poverty. That week brought gratitude, satisfaction, and joy to my mind and soul because I could see teenagers aging 15 to 18 years old enjoying moments and places they have never been before from the depth of their soul. Our camp was based on non-formal education activities. During the seven days, we tried to help them with different exercises. Being more confident, speaking in front of a group of people, working in teams, exercising English, connecting, becoming independent, and saying their own opinions, understanding the value of education, were some of the camp targets. And more than this, we tried to coach them regarding the importance of their future choices, inspiring them with different stories from young adults, coming from low-income families. They succeeded in life with ambition and motivation. I was content with the chance to be on their journey, to see how a friendly and safe environment can change their attitudes, wishes, and state of mind. If, at the beginning of the camp, they were all looking shy and sad, we could see pleasure and enthusiasm for them at the end of it.


It was an inspirational lesson from many perspectives for me. Firstly, I could enjoy being part of something so great for working towards a better world for the young generation and understanding the importance of sustainable development goals for a happy and healthy society. More than this, I was inspired by the teenagers by their desire to change their lives, and this has changed my attitude regarding my life and my priorities too.


I consider and advise people to be curious and active in working for at least one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. It can bring individual experience and satisfaction while doing good to animals, people, and nature. Either you bring your contribution by teaching your child and loved ones about recycling, kindness, integration, environment, innovation, and justice. Either you are involved in working close to one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. You can be part of a significant change on the planet. You have the power to change mindsets by your example, your initiative, or your small actions by manifesting these goals in your own lives. By encouraging, teaching others, and taking the challenge, your small steps can lead to less poverty on earth, a healthier environment, and more justice and equity.


Be the change you want to see in the world, and together we can write more inspiring stories about the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.




Sources:

1. Poverty rates are high among children in Romania, report finds. https://www.romania-insider.com/children-poverty-romania-report

2. Be the change. https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/be-the-change/


4 views0 comments
bottom of page